New York City-In all it’s Vintage Splendor

On Thursday I will be heading to NYC for the weekend with my husband for a big German event called the “Steuben Parade” that we happen to be participates in. It’s going to be an amazing experience and I cannot wait and I also cannot wait to go back to one of my favorite cities in the world, NYC. I love this city so very much and every time I set foot in it, I feel like I’m at home.

So while I pack for the city that never sleeps I thought I would share some cool vintage photos I found online of NYC. Enjoy!

1940’s New York

NYC 1941

As a Lindy Hopper I love this picture “Dancing Girls in Harlem 1938”

dancing girls harlem 1938

Penn Station 1940’s. How romantic is this hello or goodbye? I think it’s a Goodbye.

penn station 1940's

Since the weather just may be somewhat nice this weekend, I think I could totally pull this off…if I had the clothes that is:)

Look at the girl on the side with that Snood? Fantastic!

1940's fashion

Ahh the famous stoops of New York. Isn’t she gorgeous??

1940's Fashion

I love everything about this photo

Vintage 1950's Fashion

Famous Cotton Club

Cotton Club

The Famous Savoy Ballroom (I have been to the plaque that now stands where the hall once stood)

savoy-ballroom

Time Square 1938

times-square-1938

I adore Art Deco architecture and New York City has plenty of it

Art Deco of New York

Lastly I will leave you with one of my favorite musicals and scenes from that musical “On the Town – New York, New York”.

3 thoughts on “New York City-In all it’s Vintage Splendor

  1. Ahh, the Big Apple with its millions of souls and unbreakable spirit, forgotten alleyways and shinning main streets. I’ve never been, but so hope to follow in your (and my little sister’s – she just took her first quick trip there earlier this year) footsteps one day. Please share oodles about NYC with us here – I can never get enough of learning more about this incredible city.

    ♥ Jessica

Leave a Reply

